常見問題集

問題 1. 我的基因剔除老鼠常會突然死亡,是否是因為心臟衰竭所造成?


回答: 台灣小鼠診所提供心電圖以及非侵入式血壓計來檢測心臟方面的功能,如心室肥大與心律不整等。根據檢測結果,可推 論您的老鼠是否因心臟衰竭而死亡。


問題 2. 可否使用已死亡的老鼠來進行病理檢驗?台灣小鼠診所是否有標準操作程序來進行這方面的測試?


回答: 台灣小鼠診所並不建議使用在籠子內死亡的老鼠來進行病理檢驗。但如您確定您的老鼠死亡的時間在一小時內,請儘快 將收集好的組織置於 4% 三聚甲醛或 10% 福馬林之固定液內,台灣小鼠診所將會為您進行檢測。但是台灣小鼠診所並不保證結果的品質,因死後變化可能會造成影響。因此,台灣小鼠診所並不提供在籠內死亡動物的標準操作程序。


問題 3. 我如何決定需要做哪些檢測?申請台灣小鼠診所服務的流程為何?


回答: 請您先瀏覽小鼠診所的網頁,依據您的研究需求,選擇所需的服務項目。如您無法確定需要哪些實驗來協助您的研究,台灣小鼠診所建議您先做初步表現型方面的檢測。之後,小鼠診所的主任將會依據檢測結果,提供符合您需求的有效建議。關於申請的流程可參考小鼠診所的網頁。


問題 4. 我要如何於線上購買點數及申請服務呢? 實驗結果如何取得?


回答:您可自行決定或先與台灣小鼠診所商議後,決定好欲申請之服務,於線上系統申請購買點數,再以現金付款、支票或電匯等方式,完成繳費。待點數入TMC 線上服務系統之帳號後,即可線上填寫實驗申請。實驗完成後,除影像、蠟塊及玻片外,需親自領取外,其餘可於申請之案件下直接下載實驗結果。


問題 5. 我應該自行準備血液檢體抑或台灣小鼠診所會提供這項服務? 我應該如何置備血液檢體? 所需之血液量為何? 應如何運送血液檢體到台灣小鼠診所?


回答:台灣小鼠診所只對寄養於台灣小鼠診所老鼠房的老鼠提供抽血服務。請參考 血液、血清、組織的置備 ,來收集您的血液檢體。惟血清生化和全血球計數所需之檢體量,至少需 30 微升血清和 260 微升血液(需置於含有抗凝血劑的管子內)。血清和血液檢體應於運送途中,保持在 4˚C 下,送至台灣小鼠診所。血液檢體請於抽血後 2-3 小時內送達,並在送件的2天前,通知台灣小鼠診所,以利實驗之安排。


問題 6. 待所有實驗完成後,是否可將送檢小鼠取回?


回答:除了組織病理學檢查外,其餘試驗結束後,使用者均可將小鼠領回。若欲於實驗後取回小鼠,請在小鼠送檢時,告知本核心人員。

問題 7. 我的檢體多快會被測試?如何檢視檢體的測試階段?


回答:大部份的老鼠會在送件的兩週內開始進行測試,血清和血液檢體會在送件當天﹐而組織和器官則於一週內測試。如欲送血液和血清檢體過來﹐請至少於兩天前通知台灣小鼠診所,以便安排測試時間。一旦您於線上申請實驗,待小鼠診所核准您的實驗申請後,您將會收到一封通知送件日期的e-mail,請直接點擊該申請號碼,即可查閱預計的實驗進度。

問題 8. 送樣後需多久可獲知結果?貴核心是否提供資料分析服務?


回答:資料分析的時間視台灣小鼠診所當時的工作量決定。全血球計數及血清生化值部分,通常會在檢驗完成的三天後提供結果。其餘實驗,則於一週後提供。小鼠診所並不提供額外資料分析的服務。


問題 9. 台灣小鼠診所是否提供特殊染色?


回答:我們僅對共同合作的實驗室提供特殊染色服務,但也取決於染色的方法和數量。如您有此需求,請向小鼠診所詢問共同合作的可能性。


問題 10. 是否可透過Skype網路電話系統與台灣小鼠診所研究人員討論實驗結果?


回答:台灣小鼠診所並不提供即時線上對談,因當您嘗試用 Skype 與我們連絡時,工作人員可能無法及時回應,故建議您以電子郵件或電話連絡我們。

FAQs

Q: 1. My knockout mice usually die suddenly. Can you analyze if heart failure was the cause?


A: TMC offers electrocariogram (ECG) and blood pressure measurement to analyze heart function such as hypertrophy, arrhythmia and more. According to the results, investigators may know if your mice died of heart failure.


Q: 2. Is it possible to carry out pathological examinations on dead mice? Do you have SOPs for these tests?


A: TMC dose not suggest testing mice which are found dead in their cage. However, if you are sure that the animals died within one hour, please collect the tissue and put it in 4% paraformaldehyde (or 10% formalin) as soon as possible. In this case, TMC can process your samples, but, TMC does not guarantee the result quality because post mortem changes could occur. TMC does not provide SOPs for animals dead in their cage.


Q: 3. How do I decide what tests I need? What’s the procedure to apply for TMC services?


A: Investigators may go through the services link on the TMC website to decide what experiments you may need according to your research. If you are not sure which experiment you require, TMC suggests that you test the primary phenotyping screening. Then, the TMC director will provide you useful suggestions to meet your requirements. TMC also provides application procedures for you on the TMC website.


Q: 4. How do I purchase credit points and apply experiments online? How do I get results?


A: After deciding service items, investigators can access LIMS to purchase credits. Then finish payment procedures by paying cash, check or telegraphic transfer. After the credits are deposited in your LIMS account, please fill out “apply experiment” online to request your experiments. When the experiments are completed, you may download your data online except blocks, slides, and images.


Q: 5. Should I prepare blood samples by myself or will TMC provide this service? How can I prepare blood samples for tests? How much blood volume should I provide and how should I deliver the blood to TMC?


A: TMC provides blood withdrawal services only when your mice are in the TMC mouse hotel. For information on collecting blood samples, please check the blood, serum and tissue sample preparation. Investigators should prepare at least 30μl serum or 260μl blood samples in an anticoagulant containing tube for blood chemistry and CBC test, respectively. Investigators can deliver serum and blood samples at 4 ℃ by any shipping company to TMC. Blood samples have to be delivered to TMC within 2-3 hours after blood withdrawal and investigators should submit your request form two days ahead.


Q: 6. Can I get my mice back after all examinations?


A: Investigators may get your precious mice back after all the examinations except for histopathological examinations. Please let TMC know if you would like to get your mice back when you send your mice to TMC.


Q: 7. How soon can my samples be tested? How can I check the status of my samples?


A: Most of the mice will be tested within two weeks after the mice arrive. Serum and blood samples will be tested at the arrival date, and tissue or organ samples will be tested within a week. Please notice TMC at least two days ahead to arrange a schedule, if you would like to apply blood or serum tests. Once you apply experiments online, you will receive an e-mail regarding approved sample delivery date from TMC. Please click the service request ID to check the proposed experiment schedule.


Q: 8. How long will it take to get my results? Will you analyze the data for me?


A: The time needed for analyzing data depends on the work load of TMC. (Usually TMC provides CBC and blood chemistry data three days after your samples are measured. For others, it will be a week after examinations.) However, TMC will not analyze data for all investigators.


Q: 9. Do you provide special staining services?


A: TMC provides several special staining services for collaborative research. However, this depends on the staining method and the amount the investigator requires. Please discuss the possibility of collaborative research with TMC.


Q: 10. May I consult with TMC scientists about the results through Skype?


A: TMC does not provide Skype contact information on the TMC webpage because all TMC staff members might be not available when you attempt skype us. TMC suggests that you contact us by e-mail or telephone.